## OPERATIONS RESEARCH CENTER

## 2010-2011 Awards & Honors

### **ORC Faculty**

**Arnold Barnett** was selected by the students for an Outstanding Teacher Award at the Sloan School of Management for his achievements in course 15.068 (Statistical Consulting). (May 2011). It was his 12th such award.

Vivek Farias was awarded the NSF Career Award (January 2011).

**Dick Larson** became a 2011 Massachusetts Academy of Sciences Fellow (April 2011). He also received the IBM Faculty Research Award (September 2010).

Andrew Lo was awarded the first ever Harry M. Markowitz Award (March 2011).

**Amedeo Odoni** was elected to the National Academy of Engineering (February 2011). He was also appointed to the 11-member National Council for Research and Technology of Greece (September 2010).

Amedeo was also awarded the best Faculty Advisor Award for the Technology and Policy Program at MIT (May 2010).

James Orlin was awarded the William R. Bennett Prize (June 2011).

This award is given annually to the best original paper published in the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking in the previous 3 calendar years. It was awarded for the paper "Oblivious Routing of Highly Variable Traffic in Service Overlays and IP Backbones" with Murali Kodialam, T. V. Lakshman, and Sudipta Sengupta.

He was also awarded Honorable Mention by the Transportation Science and Logistics Society of INFORMS Best Paper Prize committee for his coauthored paper "The Locomotive Routing Problem" along with Balac Vaidyanathan and Ravi K. Ahuja (2010).

**Carolina Osorio** was awarded the Graduate Student Best Paper Award at the Transportation Research Forum (TRF) for the paper "A Simulation-Based Optimization Framework for Urban Traffic Control" (March, 2011).

**Cynthia Rudin** was awarded the NSF Career award (January 2011).

**Andreas Schulz** became an Honorary Hans Fischer Senior Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study, Technische Universität München (May 2011).

**Devavrat Shah** was awarded The Erlang Prize (November 2010).

The Erlang Prize is awarded every two years by the Applied Probability Society of INFORMS to honor a research scholar within nine years of receiving PhD who has contributed significantly to applied probability.

**David Simchi-Levi** has been elected by the Board of Governors of the Technion in Israel as an Academic Member of the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors of the Technion is similar to the Board of Trustees in American Universities.

Glen Urban became an INFORMS Fellow (November 2010).

This year only 11 members received this honor. Fellows are recognized for outstanding lifetime achievement in operations research and the management sciences, having demonstrated exceptional accomplishments and

# OPERATIONS RESEARCH CENTER

### 2010-2011 Awards & Honors

made significant contributions to the advancement of their fields, in service to their profession and to INFORMS.

#### **ORC Students**

**Chaitanya Bandi** was awarded first prize in the Best Presentation Award, Financial Services Section at the INFORMS Annual Meeting 2010.

**Virot Chiraphadhanakul** was awarded third prize in the INFORMS Railway Applications Section Problem Solving Competition (November 2010).

**Kimon Drakopoulos** an SM student at LIDS, cosupervised by Professors Asu Ozdaglar and John Tsitsiklis, was awarded the second place Ernst Guillemin Award for Best Electrical Engineering SM thesis for their thesis titled "Observational Learning with Finite Memory".

**Cristian Figueroa** was awarded third prize in the INFORMS Railway Applications Section Problem Solving Competition (November 2010).

**Srikanth Jagabathula** a PhD student at LIDS, jointly supervised by Devavrat Shah and Vivek Farias, won first prize in the MSOM student paper competition during the 2010 INFORMS annual meeting for his paper titled "A New Approach to Modeling Choice" (November 2010).

**Jinwoo Shin** a PhD student at LIDS, supervised by Professor Devavrat Shah, was awarded the Sprowls Award for their thesis "Efficient Distributed Medium Access Algorithm". The Sprowls Awards are given every year for the best PhD theses in Computer Science at MIT.

**Kuang Xu** an SM student at LIDS, supervised by Professor John Tsitsiklis, was awarded the first place Ernst Guillemin Award for Best Electrical Engineering SM thesis for their thesis titled "On the Power of Centralization in Distributed Processing".

#### **ORC Alumni**

**Jonathan P. Caulkins** (Carnegie Mellon) was awarded the INFORMS President's Award (2010). The INFORMS President's Award is made for contributions to the welfare of society.

**Dan lancu** (Stanford University) was awarded third prize in the Best Presentation Award, Financial Services Section at the INFORMS Annual Meeting 2010.

He was also awarded the INFORMS Phillip McCord Morse Lectureship Award (2010).

**Zhi-Quan (Tom) Luo** (University of Minnesota) received the G. Farkas Prize of the INFORMS Optimization Society (2010).

**Victor Martinez de Albeniz** (IESE Business School) won first prize in the INFORMS Junior Faculty Forum Paper Competition (2010).