OPERATIONS RESEARCH CENTER

2014-2015 Awards & Honors

FACULTY

Itai Ashlagi has been honored with second place in the 2014 JFIG (Junior Faculty Interest Group) Paper Competition of INFORMS. Itai's paper, co-authored with Yash Kanoria and Jacob Leshno (both of Columbia Business School), is entitled "Unbalanced Random Matching Markets: The Stark Effect of Competition".

Hamsa Balakrishnan received the 2014 Donald P. Eckman Award from the American Automatic Control Council. The Eckman Award recognizes an outstanding young engineer in the field of automatic control under the age of 35. Awarded June 2014 at the American Control Conference.

Cynthia Barnhart was awarded an honorary PhD from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne - EPFL on October 4, 2014.

Dimitri Bertsekas received the 2014 ACC Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award. The award is for contributions to the foundations of deterministic and stochastic optimization-based methods in systems and control.

Dimitri Bertsekas received the 2014 Khachiyan Prize for Life-Time Accomplishments in Optimization.

Dimitri Bertsekas received the SIAM/MOS 2015 George B. Dantzig Prize. The prize is awarded for original research, which by its originality, breadth and scope, is having a major impact on the field of mathematical optimization.

Erik Brynjolfsson and MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy co-authors Frank MacCrory (Postdoctoral Associate) and George Westerman (Research Scientist), as well as co-author Yousef Alhammadi (Masdar Institute, Abu Dhabi), have won the 2014 International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS) Award for Best Conference Paper. Their winning paper is entitled, "Racing With and Against the Machine: Changes in Occupational Skill Composition in an Era of Rapid Technological Advance."

Vivek Farias has won the 2014 Outstanding Simulation Publication Award given by the INFORMS Simulation Society. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the simulation literature in the prior three years (2011-2013). Vivek's winning paper (co-authored with Vijay Desai and Ciamac Moallemi, both at Columbia) is entitled "Pathwise Optimization for Optimal Stopping Problems" and was published in Management Science, 58 (12), in 2012.

Andrew Lo and Peter Alexander Lee received the runner-up prize to the Harry M. Markowitz Award for the paper "Hedge Fund Beta Replication: A Five Year Retrospective.". The Harry M. Markowitz Award is sponsored jointly by the Journal of Investment Management and New Frontier Advisors, LLC.

Georgia Perakis was awarded the Best Application of Theory award from the 2015 NEDSI (Northeast Decision Sciences Institute) Conference. Her winning paper, co-authored with Maxime C. Cohen (MIT ORC), Ngai-Hang Zachary Leung (CMU Tepper), and Kiran Panchamgam and Anthony Smith (both of Oracle RGBU), is entitled "Promotion Planning Through an Optimization Lens: From Theory to Practice." The award was announced this past weekend here in Cambridge at the 2015 Northeast Decision Sciences Conference.

David Simchi-Levi and **Kristine Johnson** with Alex Lee received the 2014 INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Practice Award for their project "Analytics for an Online Retailer - Demand Forecasting and Price Optimization at Rue La La".

OPERATIONS RESEARCH CENTER

2014-2015 Awards & Honors

David Simchi-Levi and **Yehua Wei** with Peter Yun Zhang received the 2014 INFORMS Daniel H Wagner Prize for Excellence in Operations Research Practice for the paper "Identifying Risks and Mitigating Disruptions in the Automotive Supply Chain."

David Simchi-Levi and **Yehua Wei** with Peter Yun Zhang received the Ford 2015 Engineering Excellence Award for the paper "Identifying Risks and Mitigating Disruptions in the Ford Supply Chain."

Y. Karen Zheng has received a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for her project entitled "A Closed-Loop Methodology for Investigating Trust, Culture, and Information Sharing in Global Supply Chains." CAREER Awards are the NSF's "most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations."

STUDENTS

Michael Beeler was awarded a D-Prize for a social enterprise business plan drawing on analytics and operations management principles to deliver quality secondary education in rural areas of developing countries, 2014.

Yaron Shaposhnik was a finalist in 2014 INFORMS MSOM Student Paper Competition for the paper "Scheduling with Testing". This award is given annually for papers judged to be the best in the field of Operations Management.

ALUMNI

Edward H Kaplan has been elected to lead the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS). With over 11,500 members, INFORMS is the largest association of operations research and analytics professionals in the world. Kaplan will serve terms as President-Elect in 2015, President in 2016, and Past President in 2017.